## **APPENDIX B**

## **Appointments by Council**

1. The following committees are appointed by the Council with the number of seats shown:

Committee	Seats
Planning	16
Licensing and Regulatory	12
Governance and Audit (excluding 4 lay members)	8
Place Scrutiny	9
People Scrutiny	9
Performance and Overview Scrutiny	9
Public Services Scrutiny	9
Democratic Services	12
Total	84

Note:

- (i) Member/Officer Working Groups are not Committees or Sub-Committees;
- (ii) the Standards Committee is not subject to the political balance rules;
- (iii) the Joint Advisory Group (Teachers/LGE) is a Cabinet advisory committee;
- (iv) political balance rules do not apply to Area Committees;
- (v) the Investment Committee membership is stipulated by the May 18 Council decision and not subject to political balance rules;
- (vi) SACRE will be allocated in accordance with the Constitution.
- 2. The rest of this appendix deals with the appointment of committees only. The rules applying to other bodies are the same as for sub-committees and are considered in Appendix C.
  - (a) Total number of members for the purpose of political balance 46

Labour	22
Conservative	18
Independent Gp	4
Green Independent Gp	2

(b) Provisional statutory entitlement multiplier (i.e. the relevant number of members divided by 46):

Labour	0.478
Conservative	0.391
Independent Gp	0.087
Green Independent Gp	0.043

(d) Aggregate entitlement of seats (i.e. 84 multiplied by the relevant figure in paragraph (c) above):

Labour	40.15
Conservative	32.84
Independent	7.30
GIG	3.65

Rounding up/down gives:

Labour	40 seats
Conservative	33 seats
Independent	7 seats
GIG	4 seats

Total

84 Seats